header

The history of France through small figurines dressed by great designers and painters

Bertrand Malvaux, expert in military and historical objects, presents the history of figurines dressed from the 19th century to the present day. The subject is illustrated by models of the main designers: creator Charles Sandres, Lucien Rousselot, Eugène Lelièpvre, Dominique Billiet. Modest but decorative objects, they are accessible to collectors or simple amateurs.

The flag eagles of the Second Empire, Bertrand Malvaux expert CNES

On December 31, 1851, Napoleon III decided to take the same symbolism as his uncle and use eagles at the top of the poles of his flags. To do this, a new ceremony of distribution of eagles was organized on May 10, 1852, after the coup d'état of December 2, 1851. The stakes are high because it offers the future Napoleon III the opportunity to gauge the loyalty of his armies. On this occasion, he called representatives of all the garrisons of France and Algeria. The eagles, made from a drawing by Jean-Auguste Barre (1811-1896), then cast in golden bronze, once again have their wings extended and their beaks more open. In all, three models will succeed each other under the Second Empire. Following closely the technological progress and concerned about the well-being of his army, Napoleon III asked the founders to lighten considerably the weight of the eagles. In 1854, an eagle made of galvanoplasty (namely the application of a layer of metal on a metal surface using an electrochemical process) was proposed to the emperor. Finally, in 1860, the founder Marion proposes an eagle in copper aluminum, then golden. The weight is reduced, not exceeding one kilo. The flag eagle presented here belongs to the latter model. The copper aluminum is visible under the gold, which gives this eagle a pinkish appearance. In this case, the absence of a caisson made it possible to identify it, with near certainty, as that of the 45th infantry regiment (only one eagle was put up for sale at the same time without its caisson). During the Second Empire, this regiment took part in the Battle of Magenta on 4 June 1859.

The Bombing of the City of Nantes during the Second World War

The city of Nantes during the Second World War suffered four hundred and forty-two alerts, for a total of twenty-eight bombings. The days of September 16 and 23, 1943, are the deadliest, causing 1500 victims. From May 1944 until liberation, the Allied forces carried out eleven bombings. On June 15, 1944, the pilot of B17 Donald N Carey, in his flying fortress, participates with the 369th squadron, of the 306th group, of the 8th Air Force, in an operation on Nantes. That day, he is dressed in the famous US Air Force pilot’s jacket, the A2 leather jacket. The Nantes expert Bertrand Malvaux, found the jacket of Donald N Carey, he makes you discover a page of the history of the city of Nantes through this historical object. Bertrand Malvaux, expert certified by the CNES (Compagnie Nationale des Experts Spécialisés en objets d'art et de collection)

Trumpet flames of the French Army from the First to the Second Empire

The cavalry trumpet is an ordinance instrument used in civil bands and in various army corps. It has the size and appearance of a classic trumpet without pistons, but its tube is longer. Generally in E, however, it can sometimes have two tones on the same instrument. The tone is then changed by orienting a palette that deflects the air flow. The notes played are the harmonics: do sol do mi sol si do ré mi fa (false, between fa and fa#) sol la si, si contre-ut contre-ré-mi contre-fa contre-sol etc. The notes are obtained exclusively by a work of breath and tension of the lips. The repertoire is mainly military music, but also the drum-band: pieces with a Latin American rhythm have been composed for the cavalry trumpet. It is also possible to play early trumpet music because the baroque trumpet is essentially, like the cavalry trumpet, a natural trumpet without piston. The band repertoire of some regiments includes, for example, ordinances composed by Jean-Baptiste Lully. Major André Souplet composed many modern pieces for cavalry trumpet. Nineteenth-century painters such as Géricault and Horace Vernet have repeatedly represented soldiers of the cavalry whose function is the use of this trumpet. They are designated by the name of their instrument, and played a role in the Napoleonic Wars.

Historical memory of the days of 5 and 6 October 1789, presented by Bertrand MALVAUX expert CNES

DOG COLLAR PLATE belonging to Mr DESUTTES Garde du Roy, one of the two guards killed during the invention of the Château de Versailles on October 6, 1789, Ancienne Monarchie. October 5 and 6, 1789, are part of the «great days» of the French Revolution and resulted in the definitive and forced return of King Louis XVI and his family to Paris, capital of the kingdom of France.

Bertrand Malvaux présentation 2017

Bertrand Malvaux, expert in military objects and historical souvenirs, tells of the birth of his passion, and presents some centerpieces of his collection which will be displayed during the ''Salon International du Livre Rare et de l'Objet d'Art'' of the Grand Palais, in Paris 2017.

Bertrand Malvaux : ARTE CULTURE documentary

On the occasion of the ''Salon de l'Objet d'Art'' (2019, Grand Palais, Paris), and of its True / False stand, the CNES has been the subject of an ARTE CULTURE documentary.

CNES Bertrand MALVAUX expert : OLMAN-PELISSE OF GENERAL OF THE DEFENSE STAFF JOSEPH JOFFRE 2018

Chosen object: DOLMAN-PELISSE OF GENERAL OF THE DEFENSE STAFF JOSEPH JOFFRE, 1871 design, WORN DURING THE FRENCH MISSION IN the United-States (1st April – 15th May 1917), FRENCH THIRD REPUBLIC (1913-1918). 2018

Sabres of the Sailors of the Imperial Guard (First French Empire) : an authentical copy, a sabre of the Port Sailors, and a modern reproduction 2019

Bertrand Malvaux expert certified by the CNES (Chambre Nationale des Expert Spécialisés en Objet d'Art et de Collection), presents you three sabres of the Sailors of the Imperial Guard (First French Empire) : an authentical copy, a sabre of the Port Sailors, and a modern reproduction. 2019

The Emperor Napoleon 1st

Certified expert in military objects and historical souvenirs presents you a selection of original objects on the theme of : the Emperor Napoleon 1st

Generals of Napoleon

Certified expert in military objects and historical souvenirs presents you a selection of original objects on the theme of : Generals of Napoleon

Infanterie de la Garde Impériale de Napoléon

Expert agréé en objets militaires et souvenirs historiques vous présente une sélection d'objets originaux ayant pour thème: Infanterie de la Garde Impériale de Napoléon

Footmen from the Grande Armée

Certified expert in military objects and historical souvenir presents you a selection of original objects on the theme of : Footmen from the Grande Armée.

Infantry of the Napoleon's Imperial Guard

Certified expert in military objects and historical souvenir presents you a selection of original objects on the theme of : Infantry of the Napoleon's Imperial Guard.

La Cavalerie de Napoléon

Expert agréé en objets militaires et souvenirs historiques vous présente une sélection d'objets originaux ayant pour thème: Les batailles de Napoléon

French Napoleonic cavalry First Empire

French Napoleonic cavalry First Empire

Battles of Napoleon

Certified expert in military objects and historical souvenirs presents you a selection of original objects on the theme of : Battles of Napoleon

Les aigles de drapeaux du Second Empire, Bertrand Malvaux expert CNES

Dès le 31 décembre 1851, Napoléon III décide de prendre la même symbolique que son oncle et utilise des aigles au sommet des hampes de ses drapeaux. Pour ce faire, une nouvelle cérémonie de distribution des aigles est organisée le 10 mai 1852, après le coup d’État du 2 décembre 1851. L’enjeu est majeur car il offre au futur Napoléon III l’opportunité de jauger la fidélité de ses armées. À cette occasion, il fait venir des représentants de toutes les garnisons de France et d’Algérie. Les aigles, réalisées d’après un dessin de Jean-Auguste Barre (1811-1896), puis fondues en bronze doré, ont à nouveau les ailes déployées et le bec davantage ouvert. En tout, trois modèles vont se succéder sous le Second Empire. Suivant de près les progrès technologiques et soucieux du bien-être de son armée, Napoléon III sollicite les fondeurs pour alléger considérablement le poids des aigles. En 1854, une aigle réalisée en galvanoplastie (à savoir l’application d’une couche de métal sur une surface métallique à l’aide d’un procédé électrochimique), est proposée à l’empereur. Enfin, en 1860, le fondeur Marion propose une aigle en aluminium cuivrée, puis dorée. Le poids est réduit, ne dépassant pas un kilo. C’est à ce dernier modèle qu’appartient l’aigle de drapeau présentée ici. L’aluminium cuivré est visible sous le doré, ce qui offre à cette aigle un aspect rosé. L’absence de caisson a permis dans ce cas précis de l’identifier, avec une quasi certitude, comme étant celle du 45e régiment d’infanterie (seule une aigle a été mise en vente à la même période sans son caisson). Pendant le Second Empire, ce régiment participa notamment à la bataille de Magenta le 4 juin 1859.

Les Bombardements de la ville de Nantes sous la Seconde Guerre Mondiale

La ville de Nantes pendant la Seconde Guerre Mondiale a subi quatre cent quarante-deux alertes, pour un total de vingt-huit bombardements. Les journées des 16 et 23 septembre 1943, sont les plus meurtrières, faisant 1500 victimes. De mai 1944 à la libération, les forces alliées effectuent onze bombardements. Le 15 juin 1944, le pilote de B17 Donald N Carey, dans sa forteresse volante, participe avec la 369ème escadrille, du 306ème groupe, de la 8ème Air Force, à une opération sur Nantes. Ce jour là, il est habillé du célèbre blouson des pilotes de l'US Air Force, le blouson en cuir type A2. L'expert nantais Bertrand Malvaux, a retrouvé le blouson de Donald N Carey, il vous fait découvrir une page de l'histoire de la ville de Nantes à travers cet objet historique. Bertrand Malvaux, expert agréé par la CNES (Compagnie Nationale des Experts Spécialisés en objets d'art et de collection)

Flammes de trompettes de l'Armée Française du Premier au Second Empire

La trompette de cavalerie est un instrument d'ordonnance utilisé dans des fanfares civiles et dans divers corps d'armée. Elle a la taille et l'aspect d'une trompette classique dépourvue de pistons, mais son tube est plus long. Généralement en mi, elle peut cependant parfois posséder deux tonalités sur le même instrument. La tonalité est alors changée en orientant une palette qui dévie le flux d'air. Les notes jouées sont les harmoniques : do sol do mi sol si do ré mi fa (faux, entre le fa et le fa#) sol la si, si contre-ut contre-ré contre-mi contre-fa contre-sol etc. Les notes sont obtenues exclusivement par un travail du souffle et de la tension des lèvres.Le répertoire est essentiellement la musique militaire, mais également la batterie-fanfare : des pièces au rythme latino américain ont ainsi été composées pour la trompette de cavalerie. Il est également possible de jouer la musique ancienne pour trompette car la trompette baroque est essentiellement, comme la trompette de cavalerie, une trompette naturelle sans piston. Le répertoire des fanfares de certains régiments inclut par exemple des pièces d'ordonnances composées par Jean-Baptiste Lully. Le major André Souplet a composé de nombreuses pièces modernes pour trompette de cavalerie. Les peintres du xixe siècle comme Géricault et Horace Vernet, ont représenté à plusieurs reprises des soldats de la cavalerie dont la fonction est l'usage de cette trompette. Ils sont désignés par le nom de leur instrument, et ont joué un rôle dans les guerres napoléoniennes.

Souvenir historique des journées des 5 et 6 octobre 1789, présenté par Bertrand MALVAUX expert CNES

PLAQUE DE COLLIER DE CHIEN ayant appartenu à Mr DESUTTES Garde du Roy, l'un des deux gardes tués lors de l'invention du Château de Versailles le 6 octobre 1789, Ancienne Monarchie. Les 5 et 6 octobre 1789 font partie des « grandes journées » de la Révolution française et ont abouti au retour définitif et contraint du roi Louis XVI et de sa famille à Paris, capitale du royaume de France.

Présentation de Bertrand Malvaux 2017

Bertrand Malvaux, expert en objets militaires et souvenirs historiques, décrit le début de sa passion et présente quelques pièces maitresses qu'il présentera lors du Salon International du Livre Rare et de l'Objet d'Art au Grand Palais 2017.

Bertrand Malvaux : Le Journal d'Arte le 14 avril 2019

À l'occasion du Salon de l'Objet d'Art, édition 2019 au Grand Palais à Paris et de son stand vrai / faux, la CNES a fait l'objet d'un reportage ARTE CULTURE.

CNES Bertrand MALVAUX expert : uniforme du Maréchal Joffre 2018

Objet choisi DOLMAN-PELISSE DE GÉNÉRAL DE DIVISION JOSEPH JOFFRE, modèle 1871, PORTÉ LORS DE LA MISSION FRANÇAISE AUX États-Unis (1er avril 15 mai 1917), TROISIÈME RÉPUBLIQUE (1913-1918). 2018

Vrai / Faux les Sabres des Matelots de la Garde Impériale Premier Empire 2019

Bertrand Malvaux expert agréé par la CNES Chambre Nationale des Experts Spécialisés en Objets d'Art et de Collection, vous présente la comparaison entre trois sabres des Matelots de la Garde Impériale du Premier Empire : un exemplaire authentique, une sabre des Marins des Ports et une reproduction moderne. 2019

L'Empereur Napoléon 1er

Expert agréé en objets militaires et souvenirs historiques vous présente une sélection d'objets originaux ayant pour thème: l'Empereur Napoléon 1er

Les généraux de Napoléon

Expert agréé en objets militaires et souvenirs historiques vous présente une sélection d'objets originaux ayant pour thème: Les généraux de Napoléon

Infanterie de la Garde Impériale de Napoléon

Expert agréé en objets militaires et souvenirs historiques vous présente une sélection d'objets originaux ayant pour thème: Infanterie de la Garde Impériale de Napoléon

Les troupes à pied de la grande armée

Expert agréé en objets militaires et souvenirs historiques vous présente une sélection d'objets originaux ayant pour thème: Les troupes à pied de la grande armée

Infanterie de Ligne de Napoléon

Expert agréé en objets militaires et souvenirs historiques vous présente une sélection d'objets originaux ayant pour thème: Infanterie de Ligne de Napoléon

La Cavalerie de Napoléon

Expert agréé en objets militaires et souvenirs historiques vous présente une sélection d'objets originaux ayant pour thème: Les batailles de Napoléon

La cavalerie de ligne de Napoléon Premier

La cavalerie de ligne de Napoléon Premier

Les batailles de Napoléon

Expert agréé en objets militaires et souvenirs historiques vous présente une sélection d'objets originaux ayant pour thème: Les batailles de Napoléon